My Top 5 Favorite Books/Series

I have read so many books in my 24 years that I wish I had kept a log of exactly how many. According to Good Reads I have read  263, but that’s only the ones I have found on Good Reads. I  know I have read much, much, more. Out of all the books I have read throughout my lifetime I have finally picked my top 5 favorite!

1. Pride & Prejudice – Jane AustinPride_and_Prejudice

I read this book back in middle school, about 10 years ago give or take? Anyway, I fell in love with this story. It was magical to me at that age. I fell in love with Mr. Darcy and Elizabeth and their character development – their story that brought tears to my eyes and made my heart swell with their love and passion. Jane Austin wrote such a powerful book. It has stuck with me through all these years and I still enjoy picking it up and reading it all over again.  It will never get old.

 

2. The Inheritance Cycle – Christopher Paolinithe inheritance cycle

The Inheritance Cycle isn’t a book, but I couldn’t just pick one out of this series because it just wouldn’t be fair to pick a book out from the 3 others that have all influenced me in some way. If you are not familiar with this Cycle, it consists of Eragon, Eldest, Brisngr, and Inheritance (and rumor has it that Paolini intends to add a fifth book to it). I read this cycle in high school. It was so imaginative. Paolini weaved such a great tale of Dragon Riders, magic, and villains that could make you cringe just by reading their names. They is still so much mystery wrapped around the characters in these books that I do sincerely hop that Paolini writes that fifth book, because there are answers that need to be fulfilled! All four of these books sit like a shrine on my bookshelf. They’re just waiting to be picked up and read again.

3. The Thirteenth Tale – Diana Setterfieldthe thirteenth tale

This story was such a jaw dropping read that I always recommend this to anyone who likes a bit of intrigue with their books. A tale that had me turning each page as if I needed the next one to survive. I was totally dumbstruck and just thinking about it has me in awe. It was so eerie and dark. The words literally creaked and groaned across the page as they told their story. If this was a series I probably couldn’t handle it, because it touched on some incest in a family, so I’m glad Setterfield left this as a standalone.

 

 

4.  Fifty Shades of Grey – E. L JamesFifty-Shades-Of-Grey-Trilogy-Photo-Credit-AP-VintageBooks-e1365414840887

Another series and not a stand alone book, but I can’t pass this one up. I’m sorry for those of you who don’t like this genre or, specifically, this series, because of the moral dilemma surrounding these books. People do not realize, though, the actual story line behind all the sex and BDSM within the pages. There is a real heartfelt ache and a messed up story that needed to be told between Christian and Anna. No one understands that. All they see is the abuse that Anna took and didn’t understand that Anna’s character was there to help Christian get through his problems. There was a fantastic character development and plot structure. Yes, the book is sensual and sexy, but there is so much more to it than that. I can not express that enough.

5. The Scorpio Races – Maggie Stiefvater The-Scorpio-Races

I don’t remember how I came across this book. Maybe it was just a random find at Barnes & Noble one day? Who knows. This is the only book I have read by Stiefvater, but I have several of her books on my TBR list. Hopefully, I’ll get around to some of them soon. I liked this book a lot and it’s also another I recommend to those in need of a good YA story. The journey the characters go on is intense and humbling, and the fact that they tame and race horses caught from the ocean, was really cool. I wish there was a second book to this, but alas, we all can’t get what we want.

 

 

Bonus Favorite: The Harry Potter Series. 

I don’t think there is anything I can really say about these books since they are so well known. I grew up with them. I loved them. I miss them and I wish they never ended. I feel like a piece of my childhood just up and died and I think everyone had a small piece of themselves die along with the end of this franchise. It was such a huge influence in all our lives that it was hard to watch them fade into the background once they were finished.

harry-potter-montage

 

I hope you found my top 5 favorite books interesting. I know they seem random, but they all have a place in my heart. I chose only 5 because I knew if I went up to 10 or even 15 top favorites, that I would be here all night trying to decide what books should really be on the list.

I’m glad you stopped by!

 

Leave a Reply

