Book Review: Red Queen

My first thought when reading Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard, was that it reminded me an awful lot of Leigh Bardugo’s Shadow and Bone. A young girl is thrown into a hierarchy that she doesn’t belong to, with powers that she didn’t know she had, and falls for an evil dude all the while still having feelings for an old friend. While there are differences between the two books, the plot, to me, still is eerily similar.

shadow and bone 2

I did enjoy reading Red Queen and didn’t let the fact that it’s story line was similar to another book that I had read keep me from enjoying it. This book has been out for awhile but has been recommended by a lot of book bloggers, so I decided to pick it up.

“Mare Barrow’s World is Divided by Blood- Those with red adn those with silver. Mare and her family are lowly Reds, destined to serve the Silver elite whose supernatural abilities red queenmake them nearly gods. Mare steals what she can to help her family survive, but a twist of fate leads her to the royal palace itself where, in front of the king and all his nobles, she discovers an ability she didn’t know she had. Except…her blood is Red.

To hide this impossibility, the king forces her into the role of a lost Silver princess and betroths her to one of his own sons. As Mare is Drawn further into the Silver world, her actions put into motion a deadly and violent dance, pitting prince against prince and Mare against her own heart.”

Basically, that is what the entire book is about, written out for you on the back of the book itself. I wasn’t too impressed by Red Queen, because of the fact that it reminded me too much of Shadow and Bone, and that kind of ruined it for me. Yes, I liked reading it and liked seeing where the plot would go, but it just lacked any sort of interesting/complex substance that would have made it more enjoyable.

If I were to give this book a star rating, it would be 2 stars.

I’ll read Glass Sword sooner or later, but I am not in any great hurry to continue Mare’s story.


Please leave your comments below!

#ForensicMom

Leave a Reply

