Book Review: Drums of Autumn

(Started 7/3/16 – Ended 7/11/16)

Drums of Autumn being the fourth book in the Outlander series by Diana Gabaldon, is the first book in the series so far that I have felt a severe emotional connection. The events in this book were unlike the events that have taken place in the previous ones.

There were no battles nor any eventful ship voyages that would keep you on the edge of your seat. The story line followed Brianna and Roger’s trip to 1760’s Scotland and the new American Colonies, as well as Claire and Jamie’s story, of course. The story line focused on drums of autumnthe developing land of Fraser’s Ridge and the blossoming relationship between Jamie and his daughter, Brianna.

This story was definitely a slow paced book which was great for Claire and Jamie, because they’ve had such a rough life together. I was glad that they were able to settle and have a place they could call their own. Knowing those two, however, the fifth book will probably have more action packed scenes and I will end up blazing through their story like my hair is on fire.

I did feel like Gabaldon drug this book out farther than it needed to be. She has always had a flair for scenery and taking her time describing certain elements, but I felt she put more of that into her book as filler until she was ready to move onto the next scene.

I love this book and it is a 5/5 stars for me. I haven’t been severely disappointed yet to warrant her books a 4 star. I’m eagerly waiting until I can get my hands on the fifth novel.


Please leave comments and concerns below. I am also looking for feedback on my reviews. What do I need to work on? What do you want to see more of in my reviews? Are you partial to some spoilers? I want to be able to give a good review without having to spoil some of the bigger elements within the book, but I understand if some of you wouldn’t mind to see more of that!

 

 

Leave a Reply

