Firstlife by Gena Showalter Book Review

Let me just start off by saying, THANK YOU, to those of you who come around and view my blog. I appreciate it! I do this for you guys!

Ok, so Firstlife. The only reason why I picked up this book was because it was signed and I was browsing B&N for the second book of the Raven Cycle, but they didn’t have it *sad eyes*. Firstlife has been on my TBR for a while and when I saw that it was signed by the author, I had to have it. I’ve never had a signed copy of a book before, so this is new to me, and I hope that changes soon. I have TONS of books that I would LOVE signed.

14351005_2114248378800171_6805848719620046848_n

I am so glad I picked up Firstlife. The cover is gorgeous. The concept of choosing where you go after you die was intriguing and I just fell in love with the characters.

Good reads blurb:

ONE CHOICE.
TWO REALMS.
NO SECOND CHANCE.

Tenley “Ten” Lockwood is an average seventeen-year-old girl…who has spent the past thirteen months locked inside the Prynne Asylum. The reason? Not her obsession with numbers, but her refusal to let her parents choose where she’ll live—after she dies.

There is an eternal truth most of the world has come to accept: Firstlife is merely a dress rehearsal, and real life begins after death.

In the Everlife, two realms are in power: Troika and Myriad, longtime enemies and deadly rivals. Both will do anything to recruit Ten, including sending their top Laborers to lure her to their side. Soon, Ten finds herself on the run, caught in a wild tug-of-war between the two realms who will do anything to win the right to her soul. Who can she trust? And what if the realm she’s drawn to isn’t home to the boy she’s falling for? She just has to stay alive long enough to make a decision…

Now, if THAT doesn’t make you want to read the book, then I don’t know what will.

The entire story was of Ten trying to stay alive and to just have the freedom to choose where she wanted to go in the Everlife. Torika or Myriad. She doesn’t get that freedom, however, when Myriad decides they have had enough of her indecision. Myriad does everything in their power to kill Ten, because having her in Many Ends is more favorable than her choosing Troika.

You can guess what happens at the end. She finally chooses her Everlife destination. Despite her feelings for her love interest and despite her parent’s, Ten chooses where her heart leans towards.

Overall, this is a really good book. I can’t wait to start the second in the Everlife series. Ten is on a new mission and I can’t wait to see how she does.

83bd159398a8c0b639e15d6cbf9c197a

5/5 stars!

789f56a070f888869388c285a6f4251e

One thought on “Firstlife by Gena Showalter Book Review

Leave a Reply

