Book Review: Hunter

Mercedes Lackey is one of my oldest favorite authors. I remember picking up one of her books while I was in middle school from the sci/fi/fantasy section at the library and falling in love with her settings and characters. When I saw Hunter sitting on one of the YA shelves at B&N I didn’t hesitate to pick it up. I guess she’s one of those authors that I will always pick up, and I didn’t even know I had a favorite author like that; I normally jump around authors and pick up books that look good. Anyway, I didn’t read it right away, because I had other books on my tbr pile, but I picked it up a few days ago and I was hooked. I just finished it yesterday!

hunter_featured

I was really surprised that I enjoyed this book, because I thought Lackey only wrote for adult audiences and it had been so long since I’ve read any of her books. I thoroughly enjoyed this book.

Joy is the lead female character and isn’t anything like the lead females that we are used to in YA stories. She’s isn’t dumb. She isn’t a loony girl who falls for some boy and spends the rest of her fictional life trying to catch the attention of the dude and eventually falls in love, blah blah blah. No. Joy is NOTHING like that. She is smart and kind and she is level headed. She uses her education and experience as a Hunter in the mountains to solve her problems and to save not just herself but others around her. She is the complete package, so you know… boys, if you’re looking for a new fic-chick to slobber over, I think I found your gal *wink wink*.

This is a dystopian book so it’s set after a Nuclear bomb went off and the survivors are struggling to survive alongside, what are called, Othersiders. Monsters/creatures that you see in fairy tales such as Goblins, Vampires, Draken, Wyverms, etc, but they are not your typical creatures. These are ugly, cruel, crude, and down right nasty creatures. Not the ones we fantasize about in fairy tales. These are the complete opposite. It is up to the Hunters to keep the communities safe from these beings, and that is precisely what Joy is, a Hunter. She was born that way, so were all the other Hunters/Elite who serve Apex to fight these monsters everyday, to try and keep them at bay and from entering the city, but there is someone out there that does not want Joy to succeed.

elite

This is why I love fantasy! There is just SO MUCH you can do with the right imagination and Mercedes Lackey never disappoints me. I need to pick up Elite soon, the second book. I need to KNOW what’s going to happen. I’m so glad I randomly saw this. I don’t normally read dystopian books, I have no particular reason why I don’t, I just never pick up them up.

5/5 stars!

Please leave comments below and what you think of Hunter if you have read it.

Thanks for stopping by!

Forensic Mom

 

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Hunter

Leave a Reply

