Book Review: With Visions of Red

I have a love-hate relationship with Kindle books, because the majority of the ones I get are free and they are ALWAYS the first in the series, so when it ends it ends on a cliff hanger. That is what happened with Visions of Red by Trisha Wolfe. I saw this book on Goodreads and downloaded it for free off of Amazon. I finished it in a day.

rb-teaser-3

I have to give you a Goodreads blurb for this one, because I don’t think I can do a very good job of describing what this story is about.

Criminal profiler Sadie Bonds knows blood. Her affair with the gruesome, dark world of killers began long before she started applying her analytical skills to investigate gory crime scenes. She gets inside the killers’ heads, breaks them down, relates to them on an arcane level. She prefers it this way—because it’s safer to ally herself with the villain than the victim. At least, that’s how she’s coped ever since she was abducted and tortured as a teen.

She will never be a victim again.

Now, she’s honed her skills in order to bring justice to these ritualistic offenders. Working alongside her colleagues, armed with sharp wit and a SIG, Sadie always catches her sadist. Until one ruthless serial killer gets inside Sadie’s head, turning the tables. He knows her secrets. Her obsessions. The darkest, most deviant part of her soul.

When she meets Colton Reed, dangerous stakes are raised as he threatens to unravel her control and reveal her darkest fantasies. The sexy-as-sin bondage rigger at an exclusive BDSM club pushes her boundaries, forcing her to acknowledge that side of herself she fears. Plunged into a realm of torture and suffering, pain and pleasure, Sadie balances on the razor-sharp edge of two intersecting worlds threatening to swallow her.

This is the darkest book I have read in…well…ever. I am a criminal justice/ forensic science major so crime scenes, blood, murder, etc doesn’t really bother me (I haven’t been up close in personal with any of that, yet), so when reading this I wasn’t grossed out or feeling sick. I was, however, really saddened by the way Sadie became to be a profiler, but when her personal life and career starts to blur lines, she struggles to find her balance again after 10 years of keeping her secret.

I have a sneaking suspicion that Colton, who she meets at The Lair, is the serial murderer who is giving her ‘gifts’, but of course I have to read the second or even third book to figure that little puzzle out.

With Visions of Red bondage and BDSM are taken to a whole new level. I enjoyed the Fifty Shades of Grey books, but that doesn’t compare to the stuff that is featured in this book. I definitely want to read the second book of this trilogy because it just fascinates me. I love stuff like this, more of the profiling and crime scenes, less of the bondage stuff though.

wvorteaser11

I’m going to give this 4/5 stars because I am mad on how it ended. I think it would have been GREAT as a standalone, but I guess that’s how e-book authors make their money, selling three books instead of one.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: With Visions of Red

Leave a Reply

