Book Review: Six of Crows

You might be blind if you haven’t seen this book around the book community on Tumblr, Instagram, even here on WordPress.  I read Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo a while back, in fact I think it was one of my first blog posts? I’m not sure, I’d have to check. Anyway, it was a glimpse into the Grisha world that Bardugo has manufactured and I fell in love with it, so I picked up Six of Crows after seeing it around and I fell in love with it too.

Do you ever have that feeling where you just have to put the book down because you know you’ll devour it too fast if you don’t? That was me. I had to put Six of Crows down multiple times because I knew that I would have finished it way to fast if I didn’t try and pace myself. It didn’t work. I swallowed this book and damn near choked on it before I was done. The feels people. It is real.

flat800x800075f

Goodreads blurb:

Ketterdam: a bustling hub of international trade where anything can be had for the right price—and no one knows that better than criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker. Kaz is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams. But he can’t pull it off alone…

A convict with a thirst for revenge.

A sharpshooter who can’t walk away from a wager.

A runaway with a privileged past.

A spy known as the Wraith.

A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums.

A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes.

Kaz’s crew are the only ones who might stand between the world and destruction—if they don’t kill each other first.

Kaz’s crew is a rag tag team of the most unlikely sort of people, but it works. They go and pull off the most magnificent heist of all time. It was such an action packed, fast-paced, book that I was looking for more when it was done. I went out and bought Crooked Kingdom, I’ll be starting that soon, just so I can continue the story.

I was rooting for Kaz and Inej, because for some reason I just root for the ones with dirty pasts and the most unlikely pair that could ever be ‘shipped’, but alas, I did and I want them to work so badly together! So, of course when the book ended I wanted to throw it against the wall. But I didn’t, because books are my precious and they must be treated as such.

I don’t like giving away spoilers so my ‘reviews’ are mostly just me ranting and raving about the book and if I don’t stop I won’t stop *dances*.  I will tell you that I am envious of Leigh Bardugo. I want to write, but if you haven’t noticed with my blog posts, I suck at it. I love reading, but I don’t think I could ever get my words down on paper.

I give Six of Crows 5/5 stars! There is no way in hell it deserves less.

ac0cb2b04d92203c3369e7e2968d4cf0

 

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Six of Crows

Leave a Reply

