Interview with an Aspiring Author

Hello everyone! Today I am bringing you an interview with an aspiring author, who happens to be a good friend of mine! I hope you enjoy this interview! You will find a little information about her at the bottom of the post. Enjoy!

1.  Q. What made you want to pursue writing?

A. This is going to sound corny, but I didn’t choose writing. Writing chose me. I was going through a tough time and needed some place to express myself. Writing allowed me to do through different characters.

2. Q. Who is your favorite author?

A. I don’t like this question. I have many different authors for different reasons. I can’t pick just one. Some of my favorites are Colleen Hoover, Elle Kennedy, Krista and Becca Ritchie, Renee Carlino, Jamie McGuire, KA Tucker, Emma Chase, Cora Carmack, and many many more…

3. Q. Where do you get your ideas?

A. Everywhere! Little bits and pieces come randomly. Sometimes from books, from the grocery store, from television, the radio, interacting with children.

4. Q. What is your writing process like?

A. Most of the time I will have an idea and let it simmer in my head until I can’t take it anymore and have to get it down. After I get the gist out then EDIT EDIT EDIT. I am constantly adding details here and there. It’s like I get a glimpse of a picture that is 100 yards away and the more I focus on it, the closer it becomes until I have a scene that I can work with.

5. Q. Will you write stand-alones or series?

A. I don’t know. I would love to write both one day. Each are their own texture.  Just to get ONE book out would be a dream come true. Series are a whole different ballgame. You have readers who already have set expectations and theories. I think if I ever did do a series it would be a series of stand-alones. As a reader, I am not a fan of cliffhangers but I can see the beauty in them as a writer so who knows?? I will let the characters decide….

6. Q. In one sitting, how many pages or words can you get written down?

A. Depends. Sometimes ten pages and sometimes no matter how hard I’m trying by the time I finish I have about ten measly words.

7. Q. Does writing energize you or exhaust you?

A. Both. I think it depends  on the scene. If I write something really uppity and happy then I am happy. If I write something depressing then I am exhausted by the end.

8.  Q. How do you remember your ideas if you get one throughout the day?

A. That’s the funny thing about ideas. They don’t leave you alone! At least they don’t me anyway. My ideas keep nagging me and begging me to be used until they weasel their way into a story.

9. Q. How do you select names for your characters?

A. Mostly from names that I would pick for a baby that my husband has rejected. That’s one of his favorite things to me. I’ll say, “Do you like the name____?” He says, “No, make that a character name.”

10. Q. What is the hardest part about developing characters?

A. Staying true to them, even when I don’t want to. It takes me a looooonnnngg time to write a chapter. Because of this I have to go back and reread several times before I feel like they are completely in my head. Some days I feel like more of a judgmental reader and I want to criticize them and change them. Then I have to reprogram my brain because even if I think they are “too whiny” or “too immature” they are who they are at the end of the day.

11. Q. What is the hardest part of writing?

A. Time to write! I want it to be a natural, fun process. Some days I want to site and write all day long. But reality won’t let me do that. My children need to eat at some point.

12. Q. Do you want to self-publish or be under contract with a large publishing company? And if so, which publishing company?

A. I think it would be a dream if either happens. I’m not picky. 😉

13. Q. As a teacher and mother, how do you find time to write?

A. I make time to write. And lack of sleep helps. When you have so many thoughts running through your head that you can’t sleep, you might as well make the best of it.

14. Q. Do you believe in writer’s block?

A. Unfortunately, yes. Some days it just doesn’t happen and I don’t want to force it. The day writing becomes a chore is the day that I quit.

15. Q. Do you want to write for YA, adults or children? And what genre do you want to write?

A. I would LOVE to write all of those? Probably romance for the uppers and maybe a mystery or my own version of teaching a precept for the littles.

16. Q. How many projects have you started bu haven’t finished?

A. Too many to count

17. Q. How do you keep motivated?

A. My characters keep me motivated. Friends help too! 😉

18. Q. What is your favorite underappreciated novel?

A. The Addicted with the spin-off Calloway Sisters series by Krista and Becca Ritchie. There are ten books total in the series and each are all 5 star worthy in my eyes. Their characters are the most dynamic, real characters I have ever read. In addition to making six new friends for life, I have learned so much about addictions, the public, women empowerment, depression and finding out who I am that I will always be forever grateful to the Addicted Gang. I could read at least twenty more books with these characters and still be dying for more.

19. Q. What book could you not finish reading?

A. The Fall Up by Aly Martinez. I tried several times and have heard endlessly by everyone how amazing it is, but I can’t make myself finish it. I feel bad because I love Aly Matinez. Her On the Ropes series is one of my forever favorites.

20. Q. Which books/series holds a special place in your heart?

A. Again, I have several:

  • The Slammed series by Colleen Hoover. It brought me out of my depression after not getting a job once I graduated. Actually, any and all Colleen Hoover books. That woman knows how to break my heart and then sew it back together better than it was before!
  • A Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire – Because Travis Maddox
  • The Addcited series by Krista and Becca Ritchie – see above. I could fan-girl about them all day.
  • Swear on this Life by Renee Carlino. This is one of my all time favorite books. I could read a thousand pages of Matt and Grace in college. I get tingles just thinking about it!
  • The Love Me with Lies series by Tarryn Fisher. Bes. Villain. Ever. I never expected to love a villan as much as I love Tarryn Fisher. If I could write just a fraction of raw conviction as Tarryn writes, then I will be doing good.

 

Autom is a teacher at a public school in little ‘ol Cleveland, Oklahoma. She has three children, a husband, and a lab puppy.

img_0740

3 thoughts on “Interview with an Aspiring Author

Leave a Reply

