Book Review: A Love Letter to Whiskey

Wow, it’s been quite sometime since I’ve done a review for you all. My last review was over Mr. President by Katy Evans a few weeks ago. I have been reading since then, A Breath of Snow and Ashes, but as with all Gabaldon’s Outlander books, they are huge and take time. With the semester coming to a close I haven’t been able to finish it (I have over 100 pages left), but I decided to do some easier reads. Some romance, lovey-dovey, tear my heart to pieces, reads. Reads that won’t take me two + weeks to read. Today I am bringing you a review over A Love Letter to Whiskey by Kandi Steiner.

21053448-_sx540_

A Love Letter to Whiskey by Kani Steiner: ★★★★

My first thought when reading this is that it reminded me a lot of F*ck Love by Tarryn Fisher. The girl meets the guy who is dating her best friend, falls in love with him, and time is never on their side, that yada-yada stuff. It was similar, but A Love Letter to Whiskey veered off to its own plot line and that made me happy.

I was glad that the main character was of a mixed heritage. Normally we see white girls so it was a breath of fresh air to see some diversity in a book.

I also enjoyed the fact that the entire book was indeed a love letter, addressed to her Whiskey, Jamie who she falls in love with in high school. Their on and off relationship (if you could call it that) spans the rest of her high school career and well past her college days.

It was a great, heart-wrenching read that tore me to pieces. It was tiring, the back and forth of it all, but that’s the beauty of it. Life doesn’t go as planned, and the timing is never always right. This is my first Kandi Steiner book. I enjoyed it very much.

a-love-letter-to-whiskey-ebook-cover

One thought on “Book Review: A Love Letter to Whiskey

Leave a Reply

