Throwback Thursday: Books I Read As A Kid

Look at me, getting back into the swing of things! It’s been months since I’ve done a Throwback Thursday for you all! I’m excited to be bringing you this post today, because these books are old school and I completely forgot all about them until now!

Among the Hidden (Shadow Children A 7 Book Series) by Margaret Haddix

This book was published back in 1998. It’s about a kid who happens to be the third child in his family. He is not supposed to be alive! No one knows he is alive, he is kept hidden in his family’s attic. He doesn’t go to school, he has never celebrated a birthday, he has never had a friend. It was a really great series!

hidden-1

The Firebringer Trilogy  by Meredith Ann Pierce 

Who doesn’t love books about unicorns? Ok, maybe not very many people, but I did and still occasionally do. The Birth of the Firebringer was published back in 1982, images-19 years before I was born! I discovered this series by a friend of mine who lent them to me. I fell in love with them!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Two Princesses of Bamarre by Gail Carson Levine

Let me just fangirl for a moment.. EEEEEKKK! Rhys and Addie ❤ Awwww. Ok. Now I’m good. Basically, Rhys was my Rhys before ACOTAR became your Rhys. Just sayin *wink wink*. Anyway, you should know this author. She wrote The Princess Diaries and Ella Enchanted. I’ve never read any of her other books but this one, because, well, I’ve seen the movies. I would LOVE it if The Two Princesses of Bammare were turned into a movie. This is also a book I am missing… there are several books that I noticed that are missing from my collection. I’m a bit upset.

the_two_princesses_of_bamarre

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Gathering Blue by Louis Lowery 

Here is a small blurb for this book, because I don’t have a better way of explaining it. Apparently its a companion book to The Giver (which I never read) which I had no clue of. lowry_gathering_blue_coverSo, if you read it, I think you can read it on its own.

The central character, Kira, who has a deformed leg, is orphaned and must learn to survive in a society that normally leaves the weak or disabled exposed to die in the fields. In the course of the book, she begins to learn the art of dyeing thread different colors, except for blue, which nobody in her community knows how to make. She also learns more about the truth of her village and the terrible secrets they hold.

It was a great book.

 

 

That’s all I have for you guys today for Throwback Thursday. I hope you found a few book recommendations if you haven’t read some of these. These brought some crazy flashbacks to the good old days ❤

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Throwback Thursday: Books I Read As A Kid

Leave a Reply

