Book Review: An Ordinary Fairy Tale

An Ordinary Fairy Tale (A Fairy Tale Life #1)An Ordinary Fairy Tale by C.B. Stagg

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Where do I begin? Vaughn Jennings and Casey Clark – two names that threw me for a loop at first. Vaughn normally sounding like a male’s name and Casey more of a female, but these names were switched and they grew on me. I’m all about tradition, but it’s refreshing to have a small twist like this!

Vaughn has had a non-traditional childhood growing up. She was sent to an all-girls boarding school, she had a mother who treated her like a burden, and her father was nonexistent – accept for his money. She spent two years in foster homes after discovering her mother dead one afternoon. Since then she has had extreme anxiety and struggled with it for years… until she met Casey Clark.

Casey is an all-American boy, at least that is what I imagined him to be. He coaches soccer for local kids and works as a turf inspector. His past shaped his actions towards women and his relationship with his ex-wife. That all changed when he meets Vaughn, who shows up to help coach the kids as part of her college degree in teaching.

The sparks just fly between the two, and I new from the beginning that they would end up together, but you know what the nice part was? It wasn’t a love at first sight kind of deal, it was a gradual escalation of feelings towards each other that finally resulted in love. I just adored that aspect. I adored this entire book, actually. There was humor, there was references to Outlander that made me want to high-five C. B. Stagg through the book, there was real life drama in here too that made my heart break. I felt it all. I felt the tears and the agony and I was just heartbroken at one point that I had to stop and regroup and give the author the benefit of the doubt.

There’s a quote in the book that I must share with you all because it literally melted my heart, “God made women beautiful and foolish… Beautiful that man might love her, and foolish, that she might love him.” Now come on, if that didn’t bring a little bit of warmth to your heart, than what will?

I absolutely enjoyed this read. It was steadily paced and kept me gripped. The writing wasn’t forced or rushed which made it really easy to read. It all flowed together so nicely. I will say that it would have been nice to learn more about the cause of Vaughn’s mothers death, as well as more love development between Vaughn and Casey, but I always could use more of that stuff.

View all my reviews

2 thoughts on “Book Review: An Ordinary Fairy Tale

Leave a Reply

