Book Review: Checkmate: This is Reckless

reckless-amazonCheckmate: This is Reckless (The Checkmate Duet Series, #1) by Kennedy Fox
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I have been waiting anxiously to read this book, because I just wanted so much to read about Viola and Travis’ wedding! When I found out that the next Checkmate book was going to be about Drew and Courtney I was a little disappointed, but after reading This is Reckless, I might just have a new favorite couple!

I love friends to lovers romance. I love that it isn’t love at first sight. I love the build up and the antici – – -pation 😉 of it all. I also dig the fact that Drew is a cop and I also befriended Courtney the moment she admitted her love of cop fantasies. She is now my new bff. We would get along great (except for the fact I’d be drooling all over her boyfriend).

This is Reckless rocked my world. I cried and laughed and felt every bit of pain Courtney was feeling, and that is probably because I can relate (but it didn’t end in a lovers romance, unfortunately). I was a blubbering mess during Viola and Travis’ wedding, which is a great feeling because if I didn’t cry during that scene I would have to give this book a lower rating (I am so glad I don’t have to do that).

Now you are probably wondering why I didn’t give Checkmate: This is Reckless a 5* rating. And if I could use half ratings this book would be a 4.5*. Here’s why: It was predictable. I don’t mind predictability, but could see what would happen next a mile away.

The cliffhanger at the end was expected so it didn’t hinder my rating one way or the other, because it’s inevitable in a duet. Overall, I loved this book. It was heart pumping and panty wetting. Yes, I’ll admit it – I got a little (OK A LOT) worked up during the sexy scenes, I’m not embarrassed, human nature, right? I blame it on the handcuffs.

I love Kennedy Fox’s Checkmate books. I can’t wait to read Checkmate: This is Effortless. I also can’t wait to see her and get all her Checkmate books signed next February (Yes, I’m planning that far ahead!).

description

View all my reviews

One thought on “Book Review: Checkmate: This is Reckless

Leave a Reply

